A Question About Towing a 21 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 07-08-2018, 03:05 PM   #1

Trailer: 2018 21
A Question About Towing a 21

Hello everyone,
My wife and I are in the process of purchasing a new 21 and I'm trying to decide on a proper tow vehicle.
More than likely we will be on the road at least 6 to 8 months a year with travels ranging over most of the US and some trips to Canada and Alaska. So lots of mountains.
Is the general feeling that a new Toyota 4runner will handle a 21, or should I consider a half ton pickup?
I'm mostly concerned about overstressing the powertrain of whatever we end up buying.
I've been an aircraft mechanic for the last 47 years so I'm not afraid of doing any modifications to get the vehicle into towing shape.
If we have to keep the speed down when towing I can do that no problem, my daily driver is a 82 Mercedes 240D (67hp. new!)
Thanks for any info you folks can give us.
rotorbudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 03:37 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 1721
A 4-Runner will tow a 21, but it will be hard on it in a mountainous environment. Being on the road 6-8 months annually I'd expect you'll be on the heavier end (more stuff), so a stronger vehicle would put you in a better position to stop and stay within payload weight limits. A larger vehicle might also ride better, which will be appreciated as you travel longer distances.
rotateclockwise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 03:41 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 21 November 2014; 2022 GMC 1500 3.0L
Having towed an older model (2014) 21' which is lighter than the current one, with a 4Runner, and then we now tow with a Ram, my response would include several questions.

Do you already have the 4Runner?