Do I need sliding hitch for Ford 6 1/2 foot bed and 5.0TA - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 02-25-2019, 06:49 PM   #1

Trailer: none 2018
Do I need sliding hitch for Ford 6 1/2 foot bed and 5.0TA

I am a rookie to all of this but have decided to buy a 5.0-TA and a Ford F-150 with the 6 1/2 foot bed. given standard fifth wheel hitch installations, will I need a sliding hitch like SuperGlide or will there be sufficient clearance for tight turns with a regular (non-sliding) hitch?

I see references in some of the discussion threads about a company called TradeMasters. Where are they located, what hitches do they sell / install?
Finally, if anyone has a recommended hitch brand I would welcome the input
Sorry for sounding stupid but as I said, I am new to all of this but know I want to join the RV lifestyle
Charlie Sacramento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 07:33 PM   #2

Trailer: 2016 Escape 5.0TA, 2022 F150 2.7EB
We have the 6.5 bed on our F150 and there's plenty of room, I could even jackknife it without hitting the cab. Don't forget a 5.0TA is only 7 foot 4 inches wide, narrower than standard fifth wheels. I'd recommend the Andersen hitch as well. We're happy with our B&W Patriot like Bob's but it is very heavy so have to watch my payload.
emers382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 07:34 PM   #3

Trailer: None, sold my 2014 5.0TA
The 6.5' bed is what I would consider the ideal size, you won't have any problems with it. Trademasters is in Chilliwack. Here's the web page with their 5th wheel hitches. https://www.vehiclesolutions.ca/fifth-wheel-hauling/ From what I've read here, they are pretty easy to work with. May be able to bring your own equipment to them, others here will know more, I didn't use them.