Questions about 17'B and 19' - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 01-23-2018, 11:01 AM   #1

Trailer: 2019 19-Ft
Questions about 17'B and 19'

I am researching to buy a new Escape 17' Plan B or an Escape 19'. I've been RVing for about 10 years (after years of tent camping), and like to dry-camp in national parks, etc.

I have lots of questions about these Escape campers and appreciate any input on all or some of them...

TOW VEHICLE

I estimate my loaded weight (stock + options + gear & supplies) on the 17' Plan B would be no more than 3400lbs. My loaded weight on the 19' would be no more than 4000lbs.

I have not yet bought the tow vehicle, but will most likely end up with a mid-size V6 3.xL AWD SUV (2013-2015) with a factory installed tow package: 5000 TWR / 500 tongue weight rating. This vehicle will be my daily driver also, so I don't want a truck or a V8 (gas $$$). I seem to be gravitating to the Ford Explorer, but am also considering Honda Pilot, Toyota Highlander, Hyundai Sante Fe, and Nissan Pathfinder.

Thoughts?

TONGUE WEIGHT AND THE STORAGE BOX

I am curious to hear from some what your camper gross weight is and what is your tongue weight?

I want to keep the *loaded* camper tongue weight to under 450lbs. I am familiar with payload concepts, the correct way to load the camper and vehicle, etc. Although the STORAGE BOX seems to be a no-brainer, I am concerned about the affect on tongue weight. Presumably, the box alone weighs 50+ lbs and then I guess the cargo in the box typically weighs maybe another 50 lbs. So this adds 100+ lbs to the front of the trailer. My question is: does the storage box with cargo pose a significant challenge for managing tongue weight?

OPTIONS