Undecided on the Escape Trailer - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 10-25-2011, 10:15 AM   #1

Undecided on the Escape Trailer

This is my first time writing to his forum.
I reside in south florida and my wife and I are planning to retire sometime next year. We now own a very tiny pop up trailer called a lees-ure lite. It only weighs 400 pounds but it has served us well for a few years. I pull my trailer with a Honda Element.

I would like to buy a new car & trailer and travel the country and wanted some of the forum members opinion and suggestions. I thought of a fiberglass trailer because of it being light weight and after checking out the websites I thought the Escape seemed the most appealing.

Where I live I'm limited to a parking space so I thought of buying a compact pickup truck like a Toyota Tacoma with a 6 foot box and getting an Escape 5.0 (5th wheel). I'm not sure if I should go in this direction or should I buy an SUV and Escape 19 foot. I was wondering if there are some members that have owned both a trailer & a 5th wheeler and what do they think which is better.

I'm also concern with gasoline consumption and trying to find the best mpg.

Like I said I only pulled a 400 pound trailer. I spoke with Tammy and she said with a 6 foot box, compact pickup I'll only be able to turn about 78 degrees (rather than 90 degrees) with
a fixed trailer hitch unless I go with a sliding hitch which is larger and heavier and was not really a good option. Tammy believes a turning radius of about 78 degrees is adequate. Are there any of you with a compact pickup and a 5th wheel combo?

I also have a lot of questions which I'll get to once I make my decision on the trailer.

Thank you ahead of time,

Roger of Florida