Wave-like motion when towing with my Pilot - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 05-20-2017, 07:33 PM   #1
LJY

Trailer: 2017 Escape
Wave-like motion when towing with my Pilot

So, I picked up my 21 and Dennis installed my Andersen WDH on my Honda Pilot. There was no lack of power when towing. The car and trailer starts to take off as soon as I take my foot off the brakes. However, in the local drive to Cultus Lake, I experience a lot of front to back or back to front wave-like motion. Since it's my first time towing a trailer, I don't know if it's normal?? or is there an issue with the WDH setup?

We tried to put everything of weight over the 2 trailer axles, but the tow was a bit scary from Sumas to Cultus Lake already...

Help?
LJY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 07:51 PM   #2

Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJY View Post
So, I picked up my 21 and Dennis installed my Andersen WDH on my Honda Pilot. There was no lack of power when towing. The car and trailer starts to take off as soon as I take my foot off the brakes. However, in the local drive to Cultus Lake, I experience a lot of front to back or back to front wave-like motion. Since it's my first time towing a trailer, I don't know if it's normal??
That's a good description; I would call it pitch oscillation, and some call it "bucking".

If it is occurring continually, it sounds like inadequate damping in the Pilot's rear suspension, meaning that better shocks might help.