WDH, air bags or nothing - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 05-14-2013, 08:46 AM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
WDH, air bags or nothing

Greetings,
I have a 2013 Tacoma 4WD, dbl cab non TRD as a tow for a 19 on order. Having read past posts some are using WDH, some air bags and some nothing. Reading the Tacoma forums they like air bags and the service bulletin which adds a leaf spring and shocks. They are towing anything from boats, to utility trailers and everything in between.
Having talked to Reese, he didn't think I would need anything, however Tacomas are known for a soft rear suspension. I am a total novice to towing anything so have no preconceived notions. Some have mentioned that it feels better towing with a WDH.
Any throughs or suggestions on what you're using and how you came to that decision would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dave
dave1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:02 AM   #2

Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
When we first got our 19 I was towing with the Tacoma much like yours except non 4WD. There was a huge difference with and w/o a WDH. I would strongly recommend using one mainly because, as you have noted the rear suspension is really quite soft on these trucks. Air bags may work as well but I do not believe they distribute any weight to the front axle like the WDH will.
2019 Chevy Silverado RST 1500, 5.3L
sjnuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:20 AM   #3

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19