WDH vs Anti-Sway - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-22-2019, 04:39 PM   #1

Trailer: 2019 Escape 21. 2016 Kia Sorento EX+ V6
Send a message via Skype™ to travdes
WDH vs Anti-Sway

We have a Escape 21 on order, and our TV is a Kia Sorento (tow capacity is 5000lb). I've called two places to get quotes on brake controller and hitches. Trademasters quoted me 1500 for the Andersen Hitch+Brake, and Clearbrook Hitch quoted 880 for a Curt WDH hitch+Brake. The second place seemed to think the Anti-sway does virtually nothing if the WDH is tight enough and felt it was overkill. I'm a total newb when it comes to towing, so I figured I would ask the experts :-)

What would you get, and does the anti-sway make that much of a difference? Of note, I read a ton of bad reviews on the Andersen so I likely wouldn't go that route if I went with an anti-sway.

Thanks!
travdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 05:10 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
I think you're talking weight distribution hitch receiver ( ie. the part that attaches to the vehicle ). The WDH itself is separate.
It's been ten years, but I had a WDH receiver and brake controller installed on my RAV4 by an aftermarket installer ( Burnaby Hitch I think ). It's Hidden Hitch and cost $650 installed with brake controller and wiring. I had bought a Prodigy P2 brake controller from eTrailer for about $150 and got the Pro Series WDH itself from ETI for $350. ETI installed the WDH when I picked up the trailer.