Which type of hitch do I need? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 09-18-2019, 10:47 PM   #1

Trailer: Dreaming of a 17B
Which type of hitch do I need?

ETI offers 3 hitch options for the E17B: (1) an Equalizer hitch; (2) Equalizer hitch with sway control bar: and (3) E2 integrated sway control and weight distribution hitch. How do these differ?
I’m thinking of purchasing an E17B, and tow it with my Toyota Highlander. I’m a newbie for trailer towing. What’s the appropriate hitch for me?
Thanks.
Roger3146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:54 PM   #2

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19, sold; 2019 Escape 21, Sept. 2019
Have you read the current thread "WDH cons" ?

It'd be a good place to start.

Ron
Ron in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:04 PM   #3

Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
If what they continue to call "Equalizer" hitch is still the Pro Series weight distribution hitch that I have used for ten years on my 17B, then I'd say spending $350 on all the hitch you really need, makes sense.
I've never felt the need for sway control and I've never felt the need to spend $625 on a weight distribution hitch.
Old 09-18-2019, 11:37 PM   #4

Trailer: Escape 21 2019
It's a function of the tow vehicle more than the trailer. If you have air suspension then you shouldn't use a WDH. If your vehicle has sway control then you shouldn't need it in the hitch...although it's not clear to me whether it would interfere or assist. For standard spring suspension with no sway control, the WD and sway control should help but may not be absolutely required depending on how close you are to the tow capacity limits and weight/wheelbase of your truck. It's something you can add later if you don't like how it tows without.