Alternative Humidity Control - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Maintenance, Winterizing and Routine Care
Click Here to Login

Old 10-17-2014, 05:21 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19, sold; 2019 Escape 21, Sept. 2019
Alternative Humidity Control

Living in the rain forest, preventing mold etc. in my boats has always been necessary. While lots of friends have used the commercial units and forced heat, I've used a very simple unit to prevent humidity build-up and mold.

I've been doing this for over 30 years and have never had a problem. I locate the unit under a hatch that is cracked open a small amount. I use old tomato juice cans. The one on the right is the "tried and true" version. It's been around since Day 1. The other extended unit is one that I've experimented with adding dryer hose to and venting directly into the overhead hatch. Since the original works so well I very rarely bother hooking a duct up to it. It'll probably stay in the Escape as is.

I've used these in all sorts of ways. In my garden shed, my green house, my dahlia storage area etc. Some I put on timers so they don't operated full time and I vary the wattage of the bulbs depending on the situation.

What I like about this type of heater is that it's trouble free and doesn't require any attention over the winter. Works for me.

Ron
Attached Thumbnails
17-10-2014 3-05-27 PM1_resize.jpg  
Ron in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 06:45 PM   #2

Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
I like your idea. I've often left a trouble light plugged in over the winter or a bulb and socket on a spring clamp attached to the table. What wattage bulbs are you using? Is there a gap around the base of the can?
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 07:17 PM   #3