Maxx fan vent open or closed during winter storage - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Maintenance, Winterizing and Routine Care
Click Here to Login

Old 10-13-2014, 08:50 PM   #1

Trailer: Looking again...
Maxx fan vent open or closed during winter storage

I searched through several threads on whether the maxx fan vent should be open or closed, but I'm just not sure what to do as it seems to be a 50/50 thing in the responses I've read.
I'm really new to travel trailers and I plan on storing our 17B uncovered here in the lower mainland of BC where we get heaps of rain over winter (2" falling tonight they say...). Very little sun and did I mention buckets of rain ? Anyway, snow really isn't much of a issue usually but with the high moisture in the air should I leave the vent open or closed over winter? If we do get snow I will make sure to brush if off so it doesn't enter the vent.
I'm using two dry-z-air containers and planned on leaving the roof vent fully open - do you think this is the right thing ? I really don't want the inside to be all fluffy and green in the spring. My thinking is that leaving it open will allow the air to circulate a bit and hopefully keep the moisture down (along with the dry-z-airs).

What say youse other lower rainlanders ?

Thanks
Al
Old 10-13-2014, 08:58 PM   #2
Site Team

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
Where I live the wind BLOWS November to March. So the rain comes down sideways. I've always battened down everything in the Scamp and used Dri-Z-Air for 12 years. No musty stuff, no green stuff. But, I wouldn't dare leave a vent open, even with a cover. Besides, if you're using Dri-Z-Air it will be attempting to dry out the air you've now got coming into the trailer from the outside. You'll use it up much faster I'd think.