Buying at .81 Exchange Rate and importing to US - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Documents & Helpful Instructions
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-19-2015, 07:08 PM   #1

Trailer: 2016 Escape 21 "BE NICE"
Buying at .81 Exchange Rate and importing to US

I'm a newbie here and trying to do the math on purchasing a 17 or 19' Escape.

I'm thinking if the 19' trailer is listed at $25,500 that's $20,655 US plus bank exchange and processing fees. Anyone done this lately and what was your experiene and actual cost? The thread on exchange rates was very useful but needs updating.

On a related issue, there is a $200 brokerage fee to have someone take the trailer through customs and take delivery in the US. Why couldn't you do this yourself? What paperwork is required? Do you have to use the broker to avoid paying the VAT and insure the trailer is for export only? Anyone done this?
dbawden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 07:30 PM   #2

Trailer: 2015 Escape 17A
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbawden View Post

On a related issue, there is a $200 brokerage fee to have someone take the trailer through customs and take delivery in the US. Why couldn't you do this yourself? What paperwork is required? Do you have to use the broker to avoid paying the VAT and insure the trailer is for export only? Anyone done this?
My experience consists of only crossing the border at Sumas to visit ETI. But, they were very, very familiar with ETI, refer to them pleasantly with a smile, because they see ETI crossings virtually every day. And, per reports on this forum, ETI personnel typically cross the border, do the paperwork, and are waiting for the owners to cross.
That in itself is worth $200 to me.