3" Frame Recall on 15', 17' & 19' Escape Trailers - Page 3 - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > Escape News
Click Here to Login

Old 09-23-2015, 12:29 PM   #41

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
4" frame on our 19' completed and picked up January 8, 2014.
jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 12:50 PM   #42

Trailer: 2015 17A - Ready for more Maiden Voyages ....
Oh Boy! What a can of worms. I feel sorry for ETI to have been caught up in this mess. Especially since (as I understand it) the frames were made by another shop.

I'm not an engineer and don't even have my 17A trailer to look at yet .... it's in production as of Monday of this week .... anyway my thinking is wondering about the cause of this problem. As welding generally causes metal to become more brittle ... is this the cause .... under engineering? Or should we be looking at the stiffing effect of weight distributing hitches transferring more stress to this joint and aggravating the problem?

This comes to mind for me as I'm trying to decide which of the new WDH offerings I should ask for. Been tempted to forgo a WDH at all and try my trailer out first. Although I have never towed an RV trailer, I have towed cargo trailers similar in size and weight to my 17A for many miles without a WDH and never had a problem. Maybe because I have paid attention to my tongue weight.

So back to my original question .... can a WDH be part of the problem here - focusing stress to these welds? Where without one the joint would be adequate?

Thanks for your input,

Tom
Old 09-23-2015, 01:07 PM   #43
Commercial Member

Trailer: All Escape(s)
To help clarify what you are looking for...the first photo is a 2008 17' with 3" frame, however it does not have a welded joint but rather a bend and is not included in the frame recall.