Camp Chef Ranger II Review - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Camping | Places, Gear and Planning > Product Reviews

Old 10-27-2015, 01:39 PM   #1

Trailer: 2015 5.0TA
Camp Chef Ranger II Review

At one point, I told my friend Jim Bennett that I would write a review of the Camp Chef Ranger II when I had enough experience with it. The Ranger II was a gift from my children. I probably would not have purchased one myself because I use a stove very little. Prior to receiving it, I used a Brinkman stainless steel stove with the same type of regulator as is used on the Coleman stoves.
First, I would make it clear that I am a short order cook, not a gourmet chef. Most of my cook stove usage is for breakfast fare on the griddle: eggs, bacon, and pancakes. Most off our cooking is done on a Weber Q100 which I converted to low pressure to use with the QD fitting on the Escape. So here are my impressions:

1. The Ranger II runs on low pressure making it usable with the QD fitting. I think most everyone here knows that. But that is a very handy feature. Now if Coleman or someone else would come out with a low pressure propane lantern.......

2. In order to get blue flame with a minimum of orange, the air/gas mixing disk had to be set to the most wide open position. This is easy to do BEFORE the stove gets hot, but it can be adjusted with a metal rod through an opening near either of the burner controls; just not as easy.

3. On high, the Ranger II will boil water a whole lot faster than my Brinkman would. It does have the ability to output the BTUs.

3. The settings on the burner controls are Off, Warm, High, Medium, and Low. The flame level is infinitely adjustable between the settings. Unless the cooking pot is offset on the burner, even on low whatever is in the pan/pot will eventually boil.

4. For those of you who are not short order cooks, you can simmer on the warm setting........BUT (there is always a but!)