Jane & John - New from Oklahoma - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 01-10-2019, 09:54 PM   #1

Trailer: 2019 / 17B
Jane & John - New from Oklahoma

Our 17B is scheduled to complete 2/7, and we'll be picking it up in early May. We're total newbies to RVing, so we're trying to absorb as much information as we can. The forum was incredibly handy in helping us create our build sheet. Now we need to start on some specific (and very basic) questions. Apologies in advance for our naivete.

1. We've read a lot about tongue and GAWR weights, but it's not clear to us where best to access the vehicular scales needed to get these right. Are commercial side-of-road scales the best resource? RV camps and/or dealerships?

2. The owners' manual says that the brakes should be readjusted after about 500km. The description of the process sounds straightforward, but is this something best left to an experienced tech? We'll be way past 500km before we make it back to Okieland from Chilliwack. And if we do decide to take a shot ourselves, what's the best jack type (in the manual picture it's a pneumatic)?

That's enough for a first post. We don't want to appear too clueless (though we are). We really like the forum and look forward to whatever advice we can get. Thanks in advance.
John V
Dos Oquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:37 PM   #2

Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Welcome...are you going to be able to come to the Escape Trailer Rally in May to be with aprox 140 other Escape trailers and their owners?

https://www.escapeforum.org/forums/f8...ape-12918.html
Eggscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 12:53 AM   #3

Trailer: 2017 Escape Trailer 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggscape View Post