Batteries - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login

Old 09-20-2016, 09:55 PM   #1

Trailer: 2016 19 / Toyota 4Runner 2019
Batteries

So I am a mechanical engineer and my worst courses by far were anything to do with electricity. And the situation has not improved in the decades since graduation. So I have a few questions for the electrical experts out there:

1. If I plug my trailer into shore power and the EMS starts out showing 6 amps into the trailer, is that normal?
2. When the amps drop to zero, should I unplug the shore power?
3. Does the converter supplied by Escape "condition" the battery?
4. If I turn on my inverter is the input voltage on the screen an accurate indicator of battery voltage (with no load)
5. I have a portable solar panel, is it harming the batteries if I hook it up for a short period of time (one or two hours) then unplug it?
6. My goal is to never drop below two lights on the battery charge indicator is that reasonable?

Thanks for your input
Old 09-20-2016, 10:40 PM   #2

Trailer: 2016 Escape 19 classic "Escapade", Tow: 2020 Honda Ridgeline
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughharden View Post
So I am a mechanical engineer and my worst courses by far were anything to do with electricity. And the situation has not improved in the decades since graduation. So I have a few questions for the electrical experts out there:

1. If I plug my trailer into shore power and the EMS starts out showing 6 amps into the trailer, is that normal?
4. If I turn on my inverter is the input voltage on the screen an accurate indicator of battery voltage (with no load)
5. I have a portable solar panel, is it harming the batteries if I hook it up for a short period of time (one or two hours) then unplug it?