Clarification on Electrical System for Newbie - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login

Old 12-02-2016, 10:02 AM   #1

Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA "Wild Thing"
Clarification on Electrical System for Newbie

I’m a newbie here working through the build sheet on my 5.0TA and would like confirmation and clarification on the electrical system. As I currently understand things:
1. When connected to “shore power” most campgrounds have either a 30 amp or 50 amp plug. If 50 amp is available, it is desirable since it will produce a stronger flow..ie more “juice” . Does Escape provide a 30 amp connection with a 50 amp adaptor?
2. When connected to shore power, the 2-6vbatteries are charging using the built in converter (AC to DC). 2-6vbatteries are also charging when driving the Tow Vehicle or hooked up to solar panels.
3. 120v is supplied by the shore power 30 or 50 amp connection to provide power to 120v appliances and 120v outlets.
4. An Inverter (pure sine wave) converts DC (battery) power to AC 120v power and can be connected to all the 120v outets so they will essentially run off the battery.
5. Air Conditioner runs only on 120v and draws a large amount of power.

If these statements are correct, I’m planning to opt for the Solar Panels and the Inverter wired to all the plugs. That seems to give me the most flexibility to be on or off the grid and still have power.
1. Given that, is there a significant advantage to using 12v appliances rather than standard 120v appliances ?
2. If so, what 12v appliances do you use? I’m trying to decide how many plugs I need of each 12v and 120v. I don’t currently have any 12v gadgets and am having a hard time envisioning what I might need or could replace with a 12v to save power.