How many amps do you pull from the battery? - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2015, 11:40 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
alanmalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Trailer: '21 - 'Velocity'. Tow: Toyota Tacoma V6, 4X4, manual.
Posts: 547
How many amps do you pull from the battery?

Not in the worst case. But more like a coincidence of many items running at the same time, but in a normal situation. To be precise, I'm not asking about an inverter or other major high-drain device (that I probably don't own).

So for example: Its a cold evening and the furnace is running, you are doing the dishes and the pump comes on, refrigerator, radio and a number of interior lights are running. What would be the amp draw in that scenario? (If I missed anything in the standard configuration, please mention it.)

If you have an amp meter in your fancy battery monitor then perhaps you can give me a precise number. But if you have a informed guess than I would appreciate that also.

Thanks!
Alan
__________________

alanmalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 01:45 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
padlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Trailer: 5.0 TA #6, 2012 F150 EB
Posts: 3,848
14 amps is as highest draw I've seen at one time., that was with the refer on 12 volts. Other then that it would be when the pump or furnace kicks in, the only other thing that would be on would be a couple led lights, so maybe 4 amps.
__________________

__________________
Happy Motoring
Bob
padlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 06:17 AM   #3
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,691
Other than the refer which I switch to propane if not hooked up, your Atwood furnace is probably the biggest drain. But at 2 amps/hour it is the lowest furnace on the market. so over a 24 hour period at 50% use there is about 24 amps. The lights, if LED are minimal, and the pump is not run constantly. I guesstimate an average daily use of 30 amp draw in the winter from my battery before the next solar charging kicks in. In warmer climates about 10/day. Thus your solar if equipped should refill your draw daily.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 09:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N/A, Indiana
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 931
power used by each appliance in 19 ft, 2011
__________________
"Never argue with an idiot. They only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin
Jubal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 10:50 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2016 Tacoma Off Road, 2017 21
Posts: 2,285
Worst case for me (not running the inverter) is around 12 amps. That would be charging & running my laptop (9 amps) cell phone amp & hotspot (1 amp) and the furnace (2 amps).

If I'm making a pot of coffee, the inverter draws 65 amps for around 8 minutes.

I generally will average about 25 - 30 amp hours per day.
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2016 Tacoma, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
alanmalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Trailer: '21 - 'Velocity'. Tow: Toyota Tacoma V6, 4X4, manual.
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vermilye View Post
Worst case for me (not running the inverter) is around 12 amps. That would be charging & running my laptop (9 amps) cell phone amp & hotspot (1 amp) and the furnace (2 amps).

I generally will average about 25 - 30 amp hours per day.
Good to know the furnace only draws about 2 amps.

Anyone know how much the pump pulls?

Inverters, TV, CPAP, and similar I wouldn't consider as included in the base installation, so aren't of immediate interest.

Amp-hours or amp-days are also not my goal with this question. A closer example (but not exactly on target) would be "what master fuse" to use. Or, in other words, instantaneous draw is what I am trying to estimate in an "almost" worst case. 'Frig running, pump turns on, radio on, furnace comes on - perhaps 14 amps as 'padlin' has observed?

Since my wife got a laptop for her birthday I probably should add that to the "likely" load.

--
Alan
alanmalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
padlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Trailer: 5.0 TA #6, 2012 F150 EB
Posts: 3,848
I believe the ETI installed inline breaker is 30A, why do you want to go smaller?
__________________
Happy Motoring
Bob
padlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 08:53 PM   #8
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,691
Just remember that when your furnace is operating you are probably not using the refer too much since it is cold versus when it is hot and the furnace is off but the refer is running full time.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 10:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by padlin View Post
I believe the ETI installed inline breaker is 30A...
The main AC breaker is 30 amps, matching the 30-amp shore power cord and the most common campsite service - is that what you're referring to, Bob? It looks like Alan is asking about DC loads. The DC circuits are generally fused - is there a main DC breaker at only 30 amps?
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 09:34 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
padlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Trailer: 5.0 TA #6, 2012 F150 EB
Posts: 3,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B-P View Post
The main AC breaker is 30 amps, matching the 30-amp shore power cord and the most common campsite service - is that what you're referring to, Bob? It looks like Alan is asking about DC loads. The DC circuits are generally fused - is there a main DC breaker at only 30 amps?
I thought all trailers have one, my Escape and my Starcraft both had a main DC breaker. This is the one on the Escape, it's between the batteries and the 12v disconnect switch, if you have the 2 6v batteries. Larger left hand cable goes to the batteries, right side goes to the switch, upper thin wire goes to the solar charger via it's fuse, I believe the thinner lower wire goes to the umbilical cord, but I could be wrong on that one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg edit2 (1075 x 1079).jpg (226.9 KB, 13 views)
__________________

__________________
Happy Motoring
Bob
padlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.