Overriding Open Grounds - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2016, 06:07 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
Overriding Open Grounds

There was a recent thread here about encountering campground power that showed faulty grounds. That caused us no end of grief camping in a park in KY this summer, having to move twice over a long weekend because our original site had an open ground and the surge protector wouldn't connect. KountyKamper (Tom) mentioned an override switch on the surge protector remote. Our 2013 Escape 19 does not have the remote, so no easy way to solve this situation....except... when we first tried our Honda generator with the Escape, a similar thing happened because the neutral and ground are not tied together on the generator. I called Reace, and he mentioned that I could jump these together at the surge protector input. I accomplished the same thing with a plug in which I connected the neutral and ground together and plugged it into the extra outlet on the generator. So, not wanting to have this campground hassle again, I'm thinking about installing a switched jumper at the surge protector input. Has anyone else done this? I assume that's what's happening with the override switch on the remote, for those that have them. I also assume that my little jumper plug wouldn't help inside the Escape because it would be on the output side of the surge protector.....or would the surge protector still sense that the ground and neutral are connected, even though it's on the output side? I would appreciate any comments. I like that the surge protector is doing it's job, but on occasion it would be very helpful to go ahead and get connected while reporting the problem to the campground.
__________________

Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 11,545
I'm sure the switched jumper on the input side would work, but I wouldn't want it 'on' when the trailer is plugged into a proper shore power source... that's one reason that the jumper plug on the generator is a slick solution when using the generator: it stays with the generator. Maybe a switch with a pilot light?
__________________

Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
I'm with you there. I wouldn't want to leave it shorted, which could go unnoticed if it's under the bench right behind the surge protector.

Any idea whether the surge protector would be satisfied with the jumper plug on the outlet side? I'm a bit reluctant to try it, but it certainly would be simpler. I'm guessing it doesn't "see" what's on the output side before the relay closes.
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
gbaglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 13,352
Couldn't you just remove the surge protector and be totally unaware?
__________________
2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaglo View Post
Couldn't you just remove the surge protector and be totally unaware?
Sure! We camped for years that way with a teardrop, Scamp, and Casita! Never a worry.
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
I wonder if my little plug gizmo would work at the power bush if I plugged it into the 20 amp outlet (usually) next to the 30 amp outlet that I'm connected to.
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 06:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Kountrykamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Middle, Tennessee
Trailer: 2017 Escape 19' #2
Posts: 1,442
Would this work on yours?

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

What model is yours?

Here is a generator plug they make
http://www.progressiveindustries.net/generator-plug
Watch the video on this page
__________________
Tom
Kountrykamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 07:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kountrykamper View Post
Would this work on yours?

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

What model is yours?

Here is a generator plug they make
Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea
Watch the video on this page
That's really intriguing. I don't know our exact model number, and all the manuals are locked up in the Escape tonight. Our surge protector looks just like the EMS-LCHW30, though. Our build sheet doesn't specify the model number, but the cost back then, when the exchange rate was about 1:1 was $260, which matches the current price for that model. I bet their bypass box would work, and at that cost, it wouldn't make sense to do anything else.

The generator plug looks like it does exactly what my homemade one does.

Thanks!
Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 06:57 AM   #9
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia
Trailer: Escape#4, 2019 Escape21 DejaView pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 18,781
I was under the impression that every Progressive EMS had a bypass switch, either on the remote or on the unit itself. Did you check with them?
__________________
Jim
Never in doubt, often wrong.....
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 08:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yellow Springs, Ohio
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
Posts: 581
I didn't check, but I did look at the unit itself. That, and Reace describing a work-around leads me to believe there is no switch. I'll be at the camper today and will get the model number and give them a call. I'm hoping the switch box that Tom posted will work so I don't have to rig up something on my own. I'm in the middle of converting to a powered bathroom fan, and that's taking most of my creative energies at present!
__________________

Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.