What size circuit at home for the Escape? - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Escape Systems | Water, Waste, Charging & Propane
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2014, 06:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
abby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern, Maryland
Trailer: 2014 21'
Posts: 233
What size circuit at home for the Escape?

Assuming I'd want to draw juice from the house to the Escape for both refrigerator and A/C at the same time while preparing for a trip on a hot Maryland summer day (my guess at a maximum draw), what size circuit should I install -- 30A? Or would a 20A suffice? I have only 15A lines, so I assume I need to run a new line anyway. So is there any reason not to go for the 30A circuit, assuming I've got enough reserve on the house panel? Are these the right questions? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Vella, Glenn, and Abigail
Escape 21
abby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 06:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ?, Arizona
Trailer: ?
Posts: 736
I would STRONGLY recommend an RV 30 amp circuit.

I have run the A/C and fridge on a 20 amp circuit but there is very little margin. And what if you need to run something else and the battery is a bit low?

TT-30R, correct wire, and a 30 amp breaker.
http://www.rvpowerprotection.com/Lin...%20Service.pdf
Connecticut Electric 30 Amp RV Power Outlet-CESMPS13HR at The Home Depot
__________________

jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 06:57 PM   #3
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,675
I'm on a 15 amp garage circuit at home, it will keep the refer and converter going. I have run the a/c also for a short time, if need be I'd turn off the converter and just let the solar keep the battery charged and operate the a/c. Using the 30 amp wire at home is bulky and awkward, using a 15 amp extension cord is easy. If you will not operate all 3 simultaneously then go with a 20 amp, but if you are going to use it as a guest cottage, go with the 30 amp, your choice your $$$.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 07:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N/A, Indiana
Trailer: Escape
Posts: 931
Follow Doug's advise if you plan to use your AC. Low wattage will damage the AC compressor. The cost of the 30amp installation is not that much more if you are adding a circuit.
__________________
"Never argue with an idiot. They only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience." George Carlin
Jubal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 09:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,055
The 30-amp cable is awkward, but if you need 20-amp capacity, what would you use for an extension cord instead? Ordinary cords are only good for 15 amps, and a special 20-amp cord seems like more of a hassle than just using that big ugly 30-amp that you already have.

If you're using the 30-amp cord anyway, and running a special circuit in the house anyway, I can't see the logic in making it only a 20-amp circuit and using an adapter between the trailer plug and the outlet.

Personally, I have a larger RV as well as the small trailer, and since my garage had a 50-amp 240-volt circuit anyway, I changed over the outlet to the normal 50-amp style as used by RVs, and plug into that. For a trailer that just needs to run small stuff, I use a regular 15-amp outlet and cord, plus an adapter. There's no point in 50A/240V for the Escape, of course.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 12:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Olympia wa, Washington
Trailer: 5.0TA 2017
Posts: 1,253
Ok you all lost me! can't you just run an extension cord from the house? is the problem that all those appliances would be too much ? So just the heat would be ok or just the refrigerator ? I'm just a little stupid about electricity.
Fox hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 01:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
7th Heaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: palo alto, California
Trailer: 2013 Escape 21 #7
Posts: 187
Hi fox hunt,

Yes you can run an extension cord from the house ... But if you plan to run the A/C I. The escape you will run the chance to trip the circuit breaker.

I speak from experience, I was testing the AC unit and it tripped the breaker
__________________
7-7-7 Our Marriage
2008 A Daughter 2011 A Son Dec-2014 A Daughter
2013 Escape 21 2014 Sequoia
7th Heaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 02:09 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox hunt View Post
Ok you all lost me! can't you just run an extension cord from the house.
Yes, as long as no more than 15 amps is needed... or less if other stuff in the house is on the same circuit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox hunt View Post
is the problem that all those appliances would be too much ? So just the heat would be ok or just the refrigerator ?
Yes, exactly, which is why the suggestions to just use an ordinary cord to a regular outlet, but only if the air conditioner (or a portable heater on high setting) is not used.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 06:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
abby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern, Maryland
Trailer: 2014 21'
Posts: 233
Thanks everyone. 30A it is. And extra thanks to you, Jamman, for the attachments.
__________________
Vella, Glenn, and Abigail
Escape 21
abby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 08:19 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
escape artist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St. Thomas not BVI., Ontario
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA
Posts: 5,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by abby View Post
Thanks everyone. 30A it is. And extra thanks to you, Jamman, for the attachments.
Hi: abby... If anyone can blow a fuse it's ME!!! We use the 30 amp cable from the trailer and a step down connector for the receptacle in the garage.
I'm going to have our fuse panel changed out for a larger breaker panel with some extra spaces like one dedicated 30 amp for the trailer. This will be mega $$$$'s as the house has "Aluminium Wire" Alf
escape artist N.S. of Lake Erie
__________________

__________________
Quote Bugs Bunny..."Don't take life too seriously, none of us get out of it ALIVE"!!!
'10 Frontier CC. S.E. 4X4 Lng. Bed V6 '14 Escape 5.0TA
St.Thomas Ont.( Not the Virgin Islands)
escape artist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.