Driving Cross Country towing a 17B - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Camping | Places, Gear and Planning > Trips and Travel Planning
Click Here to Login

Old 11-05-2018, 06:15 PM   #1

Trailer: 2017 Escape 17B SOLD
Driving Cross Country towing a 17B

Hello everyone,

Tomorrow we are starting on a 32 night return road trip to San Jose Ca from Orlando, Fl. We have reserved Camp Grounds along the route going & coming using RVParkReviews & RVParky. We will be visiting Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, San Diego, Quartzsite & Austin among others. We are driving up I-40 & I-10 coming back.

Our Story -
We drove to Chilliwack last year to take delivery of our 17B & started camping as total newbies, as we had not camped or towed in our lives. Towing on the mountain passes in Washington state was quite a experience to remember to me a total novice. On our way back we had our struggles, called Tammy & Reace with dumb questions a few times, fellow campers along the way helped & taught us many things. We visited Seattle, Yellowstone & some other cities on our way back on this 8000 mile journey..

Initially our plan was to get started with a 17B for weekend trips in Florida & nearby states & test the waters to see if we take to camping & towing in the first place. In a years time, although we went on a couple of trips, we could/did not camp as much as we wanted & then this Family Get Together came around & we decided to make a cross country camping trip out of it.

The 17B feels small for DW, me & our 20lb Snauzer, so already we are thinking of getting a 21' as we now we are smitten by the bug of travelling with our little camper. Our 2017 Highlander tows the 17B very well along with the E2 WDH with Sway Controll Bars.