Travel from BC to the USA. - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Camping | Places, Gear and Planning > Trips and Travel Planning
Click Here to Login

Old 08-23-2017, 02:06 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19, 2008 FJ Cruiser (it's like sitting in a prozac tablet)
Travel from BC to the USA.

Hi Folks,

We are contemplating a trip down to Moab, I'm an avid mountain biker and the scenery there and the rides are amazing.

What are the does and don'ts of crossing the border with a caravan? Equally what are the important issues when traveling with an out of country trailer in the USA? We are total noobs in this game.

We want to take the Escape, but wondering what do folk do with respect to food when crossing the boarder? Do you load up at home and its all good, or do you head south, essentially bare and stop off at the nearest WholeFoods or Costco and stock up there? any sugestions of where to stock up? When coming back, does one donate or dump opened food stuffs as one heads back to Canada?

I've headed south a few times and always seem to get short straw at the border, not so much recently, but I really don't want us to get turned back.

I notice that the speed limit with trailers seems to be generally set at a max of 50MPH? Not too much of an issue, who really wants to be hurtling along towing, but how vociferous are the cops about speed enforcement?

any tricks/tips/traps guidance will be gratefully received.

Regards

David
DavidF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 02:29 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19