12V Heat Pads in 5.0TA - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > Shopping Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 09-03-2018, 11:45 AM   #1

Trailer: 2018 Escape 5.0 TA
12V Heat Pads in 5.0TA

I am a new Escape owner-to-be; my 5.0 comes off the line mid-December. I am also new to RVing.

I am in the process of finalizing my option list and I have a question I would like to ask the community re: the option for 2 - 12V Heat Pads with Spray Foam Insulation.

I have read the thread on the spray foam insulation option, and I have decided to purchase that option. However I am less certain about the benefit of having the insulation option which also includes 12V heat pads on the fresh water and grey water tanks. I don’t see myself camping where the temp is below freezing night and day, although I could easily find myself out somewhere when a cold front goes through and the temp drops below freezing overnight. My experience with my boat is that takes a lot more than a single cold night to freeze up water lines and the like, especially when the boat is being heated.

What are your thoughts re: the benefits of the 12V heating pads? Are they worth the additional $300+ US?

I very much appreciate your help.
Rick
ChesapeakeRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 01:31 PM   #2

Location: Lanesboro, MN, between Whalan and Fountain, Minnesota
Trailer: 2016 Bigfoot 25RQ - (2018 Escape 5.0 sold)
We're from Minnesota, are retired now, plan on camping year-round, including the northern tier states, so we're getting 12v pads on our 5.0. A few years ago we woke up one morning with our Scamp in Itasca State Park, at 10 degrees, and had a great time frolicking in six inches of new snow. In fact, we love snow.

What do you expect and/or love?

Enjoy,

Perry
Old 09-03-2018, 02:03 PM   #3