Fiamma vs Dometic Awning - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > Shopping Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 04-14-2016, 02:19 PM   #1

Trailer: "The Trailer", 2nd Gen 21' & a 2017 Tundra CrewMax in Blazing Blue Pearl
Fiamma vs Dometic Awning

Decided to ask this question as a new thread as I've kind of lost track of which thread the Fiamma awning was originally mentioned on.

I briefly looked at their site last night and their products look nice. But, I'm not an awning expert, so what do I know? Therefore the following questions:

1. For the person that first mentioned wanting this brand of awning (or anyone else familiar with it, I guess) - why do you want this one over the Dometic?

Yes, I did watch the Dometic video and read some horror stories on other forums and even posted about them here when the brand was first mentioned by ETI. I have not done the same research (yet) on the Fiamma.

2. Would the Fiamma fit in the molded-in spot that ETI made for the Dometic awning? I'm thinking it will due to Jim Bennett's post about how Reace hadn't decided which awning to go with when he was there recently.

3. What advantage of the Fiamma over the Dometic (kind of similar to #1, I guess)?

4. I see that the Fiamma has attachable walls and screens - that's kind of cool. However, what happens when the wind picks up? Do you have to tear all that down right away? Same with rain?

5. Have the Fiamma awnings been produced (and used in real world situations) longer than the Dometic ETI is getting? Therefore there's more confidence in them?

And any other comments/thoughts/theories/whatever I might have forgotten to ask about, please include them in your replies as I'm trying to learn more about what's what with the awnings.

Thanks much!
NW Cat Owner is offline   Reply With Quote