Fridge Cooling questions - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > Shopping Escape
Click Here to Login

Old 11-01-2013, 12:32 PM   #1

Trailer: 19'
Fridge Cooling questions

Newbie here, been reading the posts about fridge cooling issues when outdoor temps hit 100 degrees plus. This is of interest because we often camp in such conditions.

Doesn't seem to be a definitive fix from the posts. Seems like the Texas vent fan is one step to be taken, but are there other steps that would be good to do while the trailer is under construction? Should I ask for extra insulation at back of fridge? Or?

Any feedback appreciated. thanks. j
jamie beers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 01:32 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 5.0 SA
I don't think this problem has been totally solved. I camp in one of the best environmental test lab for RV refrigeration!. The high heat and humidity summers of Central Texas. 90 degrees @ 10 PM. I have the factory installed fan, extra insulation, inside fridge fan, temperature monitor, and a heat baffle and my flame is good. I have come to the conclusion that it's all about the ambient temperature and humidity. I would love to know the no-crap, factory approved solution.
daveandsandyclink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 02:58 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape
We have a 2013 Dometic 4.3L three way refer in our 19'. The only thing that we found that helps in 90 degree plus temps is to remove the freezer box. We rely on a cooler with ice to store perishables.
Old 11-01-2013, 05:27 PM   #4

Thanks for taking time to reply. j
Old 11-01-2013, 06:11 PM   #5

Trailer: 2015 21'; 2011 19' sold; 4Runner; ph ninezero3 327-27ninefour