Telephones - Page 2 - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2014, 08:36 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Illinois, Illinois
Trailer: Escape 21
Posts: 211
I have Verizon service and recently asked them about travel in Canada. The person in the store said that we could add an international plan for $25 a month that we could add for our travel there and that as soon as we got back we could take it off and it would be pro-rated for the time it was used (in our case we will use it for two weeks so will pay $12.50ish). This will allow us to make calls and text. He also told us to avoid using data there as it would be very costly.
__________________

tash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 08:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,936
Whenever I go to the US or Mexico, I just contact my cell phone provider (TELUS), and get a roaming package. It gives me a whole bunch of free minutes and text, and bumps my data package to where it works just fine for me. Unfortunately, it is not prorated, and I have to pay for a full month, but the service automatically drops off after one month.

Of course I only have that added for one month. If I was to spend more time down there I would look for a different solution. A friend who has an apartment in Santa Monica, just swaps SIM cards in his phone.
__________________

__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:30 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
mvassallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Laramie, Wyoming
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 15
Called the local Verizon store, added the Canada plan for $15 per month pro-rated. Added plan just before going into Canada, called again when back. If I remember correctly, the full charge is added the first month, then money is credited back the following month for unused time. Same as Tash on the data warning, just used the phone for voice and text and found wi-fi as needed.
mvassallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 09:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ruthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highland Park, New Jersey
Trailer: Escape 19 February 2014
Posts: 844
telephone

i'll call Verizon again. We are grandfathered in on some plan that allows us unlimited texting so yesterday the guy said we couldn't get the Canada plan. But they also have an international plan that maybe we can add on. I really can't stand VErizon except that they have what has always seemed to be the widest coverage. However, as soon as the youngest child can get booted off the plan (when they graduate from college we graduate them from our family plan) I want to switch.
Ruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 12:38 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
gbaglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 10,741
Verizon texting will cost you if you are using data.
You go to a nearby free WiFi spot and text from there. Any Starbucks, McDonalds, a lot of grocery stores. They are everywhere. But not the middle of the bush.
I used my iPhone as a WiFi hot spot at the Escape Rally because I didn't want to pay the resort for access. I connected my Mac to it by Bluetooth and sent some pix to the forum from my trailer.
__________________
2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 12:58 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
fudge_brownie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Janesville, WI, Wisconsin
Trailer: Escape 19 (sold) Escape 21 2014
Posts: 1,227
AT&T in the US has a voice plan and a data plan that you can add on a monthly basis. No prorate and it is good for 30 days. Costs are $30 each and the data plan offers 120MB for the 30 days, but with proper management and using WiFi when available it is doable. The calling side only offers 80 minutes of talk time.

The data side is handled by Rogers in Canada and appears to have very good coverage with LTE in many areas.

We plan to add both these to our phones for our visit in late May. Probably data on one phone and voice on the other. There is a bit of a payoff when we visit the Olympic peninsula, many complaints from US phone users getting dinged for Canadian minutes and data usage in that area as Victoria is a closer connection than any towers on the US side.
__________________
Paul and Janet Braun
2003 Toyota 4Runner V8 now 2012 Toyota Sequoia V8
Escape 19' 2010 now 2014 Escape 21'
fudge_brownie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:01 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
gbaglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 10,741
And, Canadians in Victoria getting dinged US roaming charges. I thought they had fixed that.
__________________
2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:10 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
fudge_brownie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Janesville, WI, Wisconsin
Trailer: Escape 19 (sold) Escape 21 2014
Posts: 1,227
They may well have fixed it, what I am reading on the internet could be five years old. On the other hand how do you test it? I think you can turn off roaming on some phones, it will take me 20 minutes of research to figure that out, by that time who needs the phone.
__________________
Paul and Janet Braun
2003 Toyota 4Runner V8 now 2012 Toyota Sequoia V8
Escape 19' 2010 now 2014 Escape 21'
fudge_brownie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 01:33 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
gbaglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 10,741
You only have to turn off roaming once.
Mine is turned off. Look around in Settings if you have an iPhone.
__________________
2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 02:34 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Los Osos, California
Trailer: 2014 21 2013 Yukon
Posts: 2,423
With smart phones (most have them now), you will incur data usage without knowing it if you don't turn data roaming off, and huge charges may occur. Get to know your phone is the best advice there. Also, you will incur voice roaming charges if an incoming call goes to VM. We turned off our voicemail prior to our last trip to Vancouver Island.

Over the last few years pre-paid has arguably become the better deal in the U.S.- that's what is primarily used in Europe. You don't get that subsidized phone, but no crummy 2 year contract either. I just hope the next time we go to Canada there are better options for pre-paid than our last trip.
__________________

Rossue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.