Yamaha 2400 and AC - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Me | General Topics > General Escape
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2016, 05:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ft Collins, Colorado
Trailer: Casita but coveting a 21 Escape
Posts: 16
Yamaha 2400 and AC

Any comments on running the A/C off a Yamaha 2400 watt generator? I live in Colorado and don't want to hurt the AC unit.. I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Thanks, Jim
__________________

casita68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 05:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2015 F150 Ecoboost
Posts: 6,915
Altitude will definitely affect the output. As for how much, that's hard to quantify. A 2000 watt generator has run the Dometic AC unit successfully, but that was at ETI in Chilliwack, and that's close to sea level. Some forums suggest that you can expect a 50% power output loss at 10,000 feet. I have no idea if that ratio holds true at say 5000 feet, which would be a 25% loss. They also make jets to replace the factory ones depending on the altitude you run at. Some have retrofitted with the high altitude jets to compensate.

If you wanted to be really sure about it, a 3000 watt generator would be better. Of course, it's bigger, much heavier, and more expensive. Another alternative is two smaller generators running in parallel. Again, more cost, and more equipment to carry.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BCnomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: O town, British Columbia
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21 "Lightning"
Posts: 1,236
In addition to Robert's post, you may wish to research hard start caps for AC units. I have no idea if you would need one though.
BCnomad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Missoula, Montana
Trailer: Escape 19, 2015: Escape Goats
Posts: 268
We easily and successfully run the AC with our Yamaha 2400, using propane through the quick connect. Missoula is about 3300 ft and where we camp is around 4000 generally.
__________________
To everything there is a season ...
2015 Escape 19: Escape Goats
2011 Escape 17 (previous): SittEscape
Honda Pilot 2011
ksitte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2015 F150 Ecoboost
Posts: 6,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksitte View Post
We easily and successfully run the AC with our Yamaha 2400, using propane through the quick connect. Missoula is about 3300 ft and where we camp is around 4000 generally.
Well there you go. Real world experience is always a good indicator. The OP didn't mention where they'll camp, but of course, much of Colorado is at least 5000 to 6000 feet up.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 06:54 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ft Collins, Colorado
Trailer: Casita but coveting a 21 Escape
Posts: 16
Yep, most of our camping is around 7500'. Great to know it works well at 4000.
casita68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 07:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Naples, Florida
Trailer: New 21 Escape (not classic)10/16 Sold Lil Snoozy 7/16
Posts: 267
yamaha 2400

What quick connect (propane??) what fittings would one need thanks Jim
jennykatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 08:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2015 F150 Ecoboost
Posts: 6,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by jennykatz View Post
What quick connect (propane??) what fittings would one need thanks Jim
You'd need the triple fuel model EF2400 to run on propane. There are also conversion kits to allow the gas only model to run on propane. If your trailer is equipped with the propane quick connect, you don't need a regulator- just a qc fitting on the generator.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 08:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Burlington, Vermont
Trailer: 2014 17b/RAV4
Posts: 371
We've run our AC with the Yamaha 2000 at sea level and on propane.
yardsale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 08:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rbryan4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Trailer: 2015 19 "Past Tents", 2015 F150 Ecoboost
Posts: 6,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by yardsale View Post
We've run our AC with the Yamaha 2000 at sea level and on propane.
I'd expect that to be the case, since it's been run near sea level with the Honda 2000 that has similar power output.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy an RV. And that is pretty close."
rbryan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.