additional DC power station - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2018, 03:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 422
additional DC power station

was lamenting that our E'21 only had a single 12V receptacle on the side of the little counter at the foot of the bed, so I decided to over-do it (again!)

got a triple plate with 1 cigar, 1 dual powerpole and 1 dual USB charger, gonna put each one on its own 15A fuse in the main power center, since there's plenty of extra circuits...

still work in progress, I haven't wired it in yet, but I just did the physical install... pictures are with cushions and rear table removed for access... yes, the USB plug is upside down, I decided to put them in with the flaps upside down since this will be under the table, that will make it easier to plug stuff in.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180501_133243-XL[1].jpg (224.4 KB, 71 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180501_133307-XL[1].jpg (242.0 KB, 48 views)
__________________

John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 422
so... Am I right in guessing that stud on the back of the power center with the stack of black wires is the DC ground ?

and, I'm thinking 14 gauge is plenty for the less-than-a-foot run from the power center... although maybe I'll run a single 12 gauge ground 'bus' wire for all of them...
__________________

John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 10:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Eggscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Posts: 480
Wow...great that it has Anderson power pole connectors in the middle.
__________________
So many modifications...so little time.
Eggscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 06:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 422
Well, heh, those are only there because I put them there....
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 08:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by John in Santa Cruz View Post
so... Am I right in guessing that stud on the back of the power center with the stack of black wires is the DC ground ?

and, I'm thinking 14 gauge is plenty for the less-than-a-foot run from the power center... although maybe I'll run a single 12 gauge ground 'bus' wire for all of them...
Yes, the stud on the back of the power center is where ETI has all the DC wiring grounded. It has worked for me when adding several items.

14 gauge is more than enough for such a short run assuming your stated 15 amps. A common 12 gauge ground is plenty too.

Excuse my ignorance...but what are the power pole connectors used for. Have never seen them inside a trailer. Amateur radio?
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 09:59 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Eggscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Posts: 480
Correct...They are the North American Standard power connector for Amatuer Radio emergency operations. The same size shell can hold different pins with ratings up to 45 Amps.
I would do ratings like this.
8 amps for the USB
15 amps for the cig
30 amps for the Andersons (provided they came with the standard 35 amp pins. This way you can run 2 radios)
__________________
So many modifications...so little time.
Eggscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 10:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Eggscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Trailer: 2018 Escape 19
Posts: 480
OR depending how that Anderson is wired at the back...each Anderson with 15 amp service. So the whole unit would take up 4 fuse slots. (I have not seen the back of that type of Anderson cig design)
__________________
So many modifications...so little time.
Eggscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 02:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 422
i'm actually using the PP for hooking up various non-ham-radio things, mostly related to my amateur astronomy. small battery chargers and such.

and yeah, on the back, the dual PP thing is 4 seperate pins, so I may well run 2 15A circuits to it (I don't think my fuse panel is rated for 30A at a single circuit anyways). most of what I'll be plugging in will be way less than 15A anyways.
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 03:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 1,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by John in Santa Cruz View Post
and yeah, on the back, the dual PP thing is 4 seperate pins, so I may well run 2 15A circuits to it (I don't think my fuse panel is rated for 30A at a single circuit anyways). most of what I'll be plugging in will be way less than 15A anyways.
John: If you have the standard WFCO 8955 power center circuits 10 & 11 are rated for 30 amps. The rest are rated for 20 amps.

On edit: I can see from your photo above that you do have the WFCO so you have flexibility with how you wire.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WFCO DC.JPG (22.9 KB, 17 views)
rubicon327 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 05:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
John in Santa Cruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 422
ok, so I'll probably use 12 gauge for the powerpoles, and 30A fuses... last star party, someone needed a charge for a homebrew Liion pack, and their cigar to powerpole adapter melted down, as well as blowing the 15A fuse in it, so having 30A available makes sense. I've also got a "400 watt" (really, 300 watt continuous) AC inverter, that has a powerpole input, I could see that drawing 30A from 12V under extreme loads.
__________________

John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.