Evaporative Cooling in the desert. - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-31-2018, 08:04 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA
Evaporative Cooling in the desert.

Hi guys! I'm a travel nurse and am aiming myself at the Mojave. Plan is to spend at least 9-10 months out there including a large chunk of the Summer. Would like to boondock on my days off (4 out of 7 days of the week). Lots of houses out there have evaporative cooling and I'd like to do something similar in my 5.0 TA. I've read about the Turbo Kools but don't want to have to replace my air conditioner. Anyone ever used / built an evaporative cooler for their Escape? I'm thinking of building something with computer fans so I can run it directly off of 12v. Would prefer passively keeping the wick wet vs having a water pump. Any thoughts?
trvlrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 08:27 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
They have 12v cooler fans, I had one of these in a toy hauler w/o air conditioning, it lasted about 6 hours before refilling, enough to allow you some sleep- http://www.kooleraire.com
Old 12-31-2018, 08:57 PM   #3

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
They have 12v cooler fans, I had one of these in a toy hauler w/o air conditioning, it lasted about 6 hours before refilling, enough to allow you some sleep- Portable Cooler Air Conditioner 12 volt by KoolerAire $39.95

Thanks! That seems like the cheapest option by far!
trvlrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 09:58 PM   #4

Trailer: 2024 Bigfoot 21 Rear Bed