Lowering the front dinette in the 17B and/or 19? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Modifications and Alterations
Click Here to Login

Old 03-24-2014, 06:33 PM   #1

Trailer: none
Lowering the front dinette in the 17B and/or 19?

A planning noob here. I'm looking at both the 17B and the 19. Whichever one I get, as a solo traveler who writes a great deal, spreading papers and books out in a rather spectacular way when in the midst of a project, I plan to have the rear dinette made into a U-dinette, and turn the front dinette into a permanent bed. Many of you have done that, and I really appreciate your photographs.

My question: I am also vertically challenged, and want the front bed to be as low as possible. What's under the seats in the 17B and 19? Anything that would prevent lowering those 'seats' in making this a permanent bed?
robinLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 06:45 PM   #2

Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
I would think the beds could be easily lowered, but you would lose some good storage space. The normal height is not too bad at all. My small grandchildren have no problems with the height.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 06:58 PM   #3
Site Team

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0 TA
The dinette is a pretty standard sitting height. I'm 5'7" and my legs don't dangle at all. Pretty dang comfortable. I agree with Jim, you'd lose some great storage space for tubs if you lower it.
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 07:07 PM   #4

Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
And, you'd have to sit on a pillow to see out the windows.
Old 03-24-2014, 07:13 PM   #5