Another fresh water tank sanitizing question - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login

Old 09-14-2014, 08:37 PM   #1

Trailer: Looking again...
Another fresh water tank sanitizing question

Newbie here. We recent got our new 17B (queue happy dance theme music 8)) and I thought I would run through the sanitizing procedure for the fresh water tank. I've followed the procedure in the manual, but one question I don't see answered is after I've flushed the bleach solution out do I also pull the anode rod in the HW tank to drain it - or does it also drain when I open the spigot on the side of the fresh water tank ?
I've been opening all the hot and cold water taps (including outside shower) when I'm draining, but is that also draining the HW tank ? Also, if I do have to pull the anode rod to drain the HW tank do I have to use some type of teflon tape or pipe dope on the threads before I screw it back in ?

Thanks!
Al
Old 09-14-2014, 08:49 PM   #2

Trailer: 2015 21'; 2011 19' sold; 4Runner; ph ninezero3 327-27ninefour
The anode can be some trouble to get back in and, yes, you need Teflon tape on it. You only need to remove it once in a while to flush out the gunk that accumulates in the bottom. Or to empty for storage or winterizing. We don't want to bother with it unless we have to.
float5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 09:35 PM   #3

Trailer: 19'
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan3089 View Post
but one question I don't see answered is after I've flushed the bleach solution out do I also pull the anode rod in the HW tank to drain it - or does it also drain when I open the spigot on the side of the fresh water tank ?