Any Regrets with Factory "Touch Audio" Stereo - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login

Old 10-15-2012, 01:53 PM   #1

Trailer: 2013 19' & 2013 15B
Any Regrets with Factory "Touch Audio" Stereo

We are in the planning stage for our Escape 19, trying to decide which options would be best for us. One of the questions that I am struggling a bit with is whether or not to go with factory "Touch Radio" stereo. Although we are not audiophiles by any stretch of the imagination, we would definitely like to have the ability to listen to music in the trailer. I have no personal experience with this particular stereo, but from my browsing through this forum, several other rv forums, and various websites, I see the following real or perceived issues:

- Sound quality of Touch Audio stereo is reportedly poor.
- Problems with malfunctioning touch panel.
- Problems with radio turning on by itself to play weather alerts.
- Poor documentation/manuals
- Model does not appear to be available at major retailers
- Where to take for warranty or repair services?

For the $300 that this option is valued at, I could probably purchase a car stereo and speakers that are likely to be more reliable and have better quality sound. In particular, if there is likely to be issues with this system, I would rather deal with it in advance than have to go through this again in a couple of years. Have any of you gone the route of buying an alternate car stereo system? If you have gone with an alternate system, how did you address the installation:

(1) Did you send the stereo and speakers to Escape and have Reace install?
(2) Did you ask Reace to run speaker wire to proposed speaker locations and 12V power to stereo location, but do install yourself?