Atwood 7912-II furnace will not light - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2018, 04:36 PM   #1
AML
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Trailer: Utopia
Posts: 2
Atwood 7912-II furnace will not light

I cannot get my Atwood 7912-II furnace to light. I have cleaned it and replaced the sail switch and the limit switch. I am using the manual's instructions for lighting, which are a bit confusing. The instructions reference both a valve power switch and a circuit breaker switch. I can see the circuit breaker switch (confirmed by the schematic), but I cannot find a valve power switch on my unit. Perhaps they are one and the same? Can anyone help me out?
__________________

AML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 07:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Santa Rosa County, Florida
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Posts: 1,658
I have a guess: it has something to do with the pressure of the propane feeding the furnace. So you might want to swap out the propane regulator with a better one. Search for recent threads discussing this.

Rationale for my guess: if I have one propane tank turned on, my furnace sometimes (but not always) doesn't want to fire. If I have the valves of both tanks open, the furnace acts normally. That makes me suspect that my propane regulator is the problem.

When I get home I intend to replace the propane regulator and hope that my remaining problems with the furnace and fridge magically go away. But right now I'm hunkered down in Asheville, NC, waiting for this latest hurricane to pass. After all, it has my name on it.
__________________

__________________
Mike Lewis
Photos and travelogues here: mikelewisimages.com
Mike Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by AML View Post
The instructions reference both a valve power switch and a circuit breaker switch. I can see the circuit breaker switch (confirmed by the schematic), but I cannot find a valve power switch on my unit. Perhaps they are one and the same? Can anyone help me out?
The schematic I found for the 7900 series has a note that says gas valve switch not used when you have a combination circuit breaker and on/off switch. Note: I removed an older version of the schematic and uploaded a new one. Note still applies.

Also check the LED on the circuit board. Based on the status/flashes it may tell you something. See diagnostic chart attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F42C580B-9814-444C-ADB4-AA5DA92CB10D.jpg (182.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg 60A624DE-650C-474D-9D38-83F62A9098E6.jpg (155.1 KB, 14 views)
rubicon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:39 AM   #4
AML
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Trailer: Utopia
Posts: 2
Thanks for the suggestion--my cooktop, water heater, and fridge all work so I am guessing my propane regulator is OK. Good luck with yours.
AML is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.