BBQ Hook-up? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login

Old 08-14-2019, 02:28 PM   #1

Trailer: 2017 5.0TA
Question BBQ Hook-up?

(I am new at this; hopefully I am doing it correctly! )

I have a dedicated (regulated) propane line coming to my door that ETI installed. I recently bought a small stainless steel propane grill (Cuisinart CGG-606) to hook up to that set-up. ETI supplied a hose with connectors on it to do that.

My problem is on the BBQ end: Cuinsinart wants me to use either 1 or 20# cylinders only with their supplied regulator. I would like to use my Escape's system. Unfortunately, the male brass fitting coming out of the grill's manifold is weird. I believe that it is 12mm (metric). I tried a 1/2" brass fitting which threaded okay but was very sloppy. I then trying a 12mm nut on it which size-wise fit well but only went on a few threads. So, that led me to believe that it is 12mm with somewhat standard pipe thread.

I have exhausted most avenues of help -- propane parts stores in Portland, OR, on-line companies, and even ETI (which said that this is a common problem). If it is a common problem, I thought that hopefully some of you Escapers know a fix to transition from that wierd male fitting to the hose supplied by ETI.

Thanks for any help!
Boehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:40 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
You little grill is a high pressure appliance and your on board is a low pressure system. You will need to bypass the regulator on the trailer(bad idea) or buy a single large propane tank and adapter hose for high pressure cooking or just use the little green bottles.
Old 08-14-2019, 03:13 PM   #3

Jim,