Electrically challenged - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login

Old 02-09-2014, 06:13 PM   #1

Trailer: 2013 Esc19/'14 Silvrado
Electrically challenged

Bought a Multimeter recently. It came without a user's manual. I'm not good with foreign languages. Very slowly, I am getting to know this intimidating instrument.

A contribution by Carol A lit me up. In her post #25, thread "Inverter recommendations," she describes her delight over having Reece install a true sine wave inverter beside the standard converter at the dinette. Carol needed something above and beyond using a cheapo cigarette lighter modified sine inverter thing for non 12 volt appliances.

I understand an inverter can run down the batteries in your trailer quickly if you use a lot of power, have no means of charging the batteries, don't monitor the loss. Also understand if only operating LED lights, furnace, water pump etc you really don't need an inverter.

I may never do it but, if employing sensitive, demanding appliances simultaneously while boondocking, well, you need a really good inverter. I have no intention of running an electric coffee maker or a hair dryer. Regardless, I want a really good inverter.

Ordered a Xantrex PRO Watt 600 Inverter, Model #806-1206 off Amazon and it will be here late next week.

Now I have to figure out how to install it.

Accordingly, have spent today pondering the situation, laying groundwork for the challenge that awaits. I like Reece's configuration, as seen in Carol's post, but when it comes to the actual wiring I really need assurances my plans will not fry anything. Hoping these pix are not too un-self-explanatory. Otherwise, I have no idea what I am doing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg con-w.jpg (168.6 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg Convrt2D1.jpg (123.8 KB, 44 views)

Old 02-09-2014, 06:46 PM   #2
Site Team