EMS Surge Protection installation question - Page 2 - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2013, 10:36 AM   #11
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,675
That is the one Escape uses, accepted in the industry as the best.
__________________

__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:57 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,934
Until recent posts I had not considered checking the outlet on the pedestal (and actually haven't to date). I know around here the campgrounds are bound to do things by code, and I imagine if something happened they would be at fault then, or risk being penalized. BTW, i am a journeyman electrician too.

Like I said before, just something I had never even thought about (just like plugging in my computer in a hotel room), but something it can't hurt to have, and a consideration for the future. I do want to keep things as simple and light as possible too.
__________________

__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:23 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Vermilye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oswego, New York
Trailer: 2016 Tacoma Off Road, 2017 21
Posts: 2,283
One example of where it can be helpful - if you leave the AC on while away from the trailer & the campground voltage drops below 106V, the EMS will shut down the power rather than leaving it running on low voltage, possibly damaging the trailer.

As mentioned before, I have had mine shut down 4 times so far - twice for reverse polarity & twice for low voltage.
__________________
Jon Vermilye My Travel Blog
Travel and Photo Web Page ... My Collection of RV Blogs 2016 Tacoma, 2017 21
Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:34 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jim Bennett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Trailer: 2017 Escape 5.0 TA
Posts: 11,934
Good thought on the low voltage, as that can damage equipment quicker than high voltage.
__________________
2017 Escape 5.0 TA
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost
2009 Escape 19 (previous)
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:38 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
FMLNM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sandia Park, New Mexico
Trailer: 2008 Escape 5.0
Posts: 697
OK, so here are photos of our setup. One is taken from the top (you can see the table pedestal mounts (and my feet!) for orientation. The other is the back of the converter box. You can see that there is a mess of wires on and around the back of the converter - it would be a nightmare to undo all of that to get into the converter.
The big black power cord (with the plug on the end) goes directly from the converter to the plug. It is secured to the floor in a couple of places but that's it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg converter box from the top.jpg (200.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg back of converter box.jpg (187.4 KB, 12 views)
__________________
Fran & Dave
2008 Escape 5.0
2011 Frontier Crew Cab Short Bed Pro4x
Sandia Park, New Mexico
FMLNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:09 PM   #16
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,675
The 5.0 must be wired differently in that the round 30 amp wire comes into the Escape 19 and then into a junction box where a 30 amp romex cable goes to the converter, this is the cable I cut. If as you say the black wire going into the back of the converter is your 30 amp wire from the exterior, then yes then that is the wire you want to mount the EMS on. Just double check with Reace tomorrow and verify you have no romex cable and that this is the supply wire, then you will cut this wire and mount the box and then follow the instructions. The picture helped.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:11 PM   #17
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,675
question, do you have the removable power cord or not? That can explain why your power cord is also your supply cord, you do not I'm guessing?
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:26 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
gbaglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Vancouver, British Columbia
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B - "Toad". '08 Toyota RAV4 V6
Posts: 10,735
So, I'm guessing that if I don't have air conditioning, that I'm not risking much by not having a surge protector. I do have a small surge protector at the outlet, for this computer.

baglo
__________________
2009 Escape 17B "Toad"
2008 Toyota RAV4 V6 Sport
North Vancouver, British Columbia

What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
gbaglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:32 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
FMLNM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sandia Park, New Mexico
Trailer: 2008 Escape 5.0
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
question, do you have the removable power cord or not? That can explain why your power cord is also your supply cord, you do not I'm guessing?
No, we do not have the removable power cord. You are correct, our power cord is our supply cord....

We COULD go with the portable and then get a 30 amp extension cord to run from inside the trailer to the power pedestal...but then we would have to get into the under seat storage to see any error conditions since it does not have a remote display.
__________________
Fran & Dave
2008 Escape 5.0
2011 Frontier Crew Cab Short Bed Pro4x
Sandia Park, New Mexico
FMLNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:32 PM   #20
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,675
microwave,converter, your battery, all your wiring and lights, your pump, although these are 12v, if you have a spike or surge it can jump wires and flow thru everything, it is like a spare, if like to risk it, then no, you do not need one.
__________________

__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.