Slow Tire Leak - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2017, 02:17 PM   #1
J&G

Trailer: Escape 19
Slow Tire Leak

Got my new Escape less than a year ago. Have about 10000 miles on it. On a trip now and have to add about a pound of air each evening on passenger side front tire. Should I put on the spare? Do I need to know anything special about changing a tire on a trailer? I have never done this before. Gloria
J&G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 02:26 PM   #2

Trailer: 2018 Escape 21C
Quote:
Originally Posted by J&G View Post
Got my new Escape less than a year ago. Have about 10000 miles on it. On a trip now and have to add about a pound of air each evening on passenger side front tire. Should I put on the spare? Do I need to know anything special about changing a tire on a trailer? I have never done this before. Gloria
Do you have aluminum rims ? We have had issues with slow leaks with aluminum rims .Removing the tire and cleaning the rim solves the problem for a while . Also check your valve stem , they often develop slow leaks . Tightening the insert in the stem may solve the problem . On my wife's car I have to fill the tires weekly , they loose about 5 lbs pressure in that time frame. We carry a 12V DC air compressor when traveling , it has come in handy on several occasions.
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2017, 03:09 PM   #3

Trailer: 2017 Escape 17B/2021 F150 w/ 3.5 Ecoboost
One thing I've always put on my tires.....go buy the metal valve stem caps with the neoprene seals in them...they cost a few bucks. The cheap plastic ones they put on at the tire store don't seal well and its been my experience valve stems leak a tiny bit. The neoprene seals sure work.
Old 04-17-2017, 03:34 PM   #4

Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Quote: