Transfer Switch Question - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2013, 12:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nanoose Bay, British Columbia
Trailer: 2014 5.0 TA
Posts: 135
Transfer Switch Question

If I understand correctly, the Carmanah Go-Power TS-30 transfer switch supplied by Escape can control and switch only two 120 v AC power sources. Therefore, if one chooses an inverter as an option, it would be connected to the default terminals of the TS and the shore power cord would be connected to the dominant terminals. Now the question... if one does not have shore power available but does have a portable generator, can the shore power cord be plugged into the generator resulting in all the trailer AC outlets being fed by the generator?

Thanks,
Larry
__________________

Stargeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 11:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dave&Kathie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Portland, OR, Oregon
Trailer: 2013 Escape 21 #8
Posts: 388
Hi Larry,

We just picked up our 21. Escape now offers a transfer switch to all outlets as an option.

Kathie
__________________

Dave&Kathie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Posts: 9,055
Regardless of what outlets are handled by the transfer switch, I assume that it is for the inverter, not an external generator.

Yes, the normal method to power an RV from a portable generator is to plug the shore power cord into it. Most generators don't have the typical 30-amp RV socket (NEMA type TT-30), so you would typically need an adapter. If you have a detachable shore power cord and want the generator right beside the trailer, you could make or perhaps buy a separate short cord to connect the generator to the the trailer without using the normal shore power cord. If the generator's socket and the socket of the detachable shore power cord are the same, that direct cord would also work as an extension for the shore power cord.
Brian B-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ?, Arizona
Trailer: ?
Posts: 736
I just talked to Reace and George.

When Escape installs the transfer switch they feed the (GO Power 30amp) transfer switch from a 20amp 120V AC breaker and the inverter output.

The transfer switch output (from the inverter or whatever the power cord is plugged in to - generator, 120V power grid, etc.) goes to another breaker box with 2 15amp breakers - which feeds the plugs. The microwave is normally NOT fed via the transfer switch, but can be if you request it. (You need to request it if you want to run the microwave from the inverter - we want to and have requested it.)
jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jamie beers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, British Columbia
Trailer: 19'
Posts: 318
Just trying to understand. But let's face it - I'm struggling ; ) . The standard exterior power cord is 30 amp, the trailer panel is 30 amp, and the wire fed from the panel to the transfer switch is 20 amp? j
jamie beers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ?, Arizona
Trailer: ?
Posts: 736
That is what Escape said.
jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:41 PM   #7
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Trailer: 2016 2ndGen Escape 19' PRAIRIE SCHOONER pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 13,692
A 1500 watt inverter would only need a 15 amp wire, so a 20 amp feed would certainly be adequate.
__________________
Jim
The two most important days in your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why………..Mark Twain
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 04:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
kstock11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Asheville, North Carolina
Trailer: 2014 Escape 19
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamman View Post
I just talked to Reace and George.

When Escape installs the transfer switch they feed the (GO Power 30amp) transfer switch from a 20amp 120V AC breaker and the inverter output.

The transfer switch output (from the inverter or whatever the power cord is plugged in to - generator, 120V power grid, etc.) goes to another breaker box with 2 15amp breakers - which feeds the plugs. The microwave is normally NOT fed via the transfer switch, but can be if you request it. (You need to request it if you want to run the microwave from the inverter - we want to and have requested it.)
Doug, Thanks for adding this comment about the transfer switch. When I originally asked about using a microwave on 12Volt, I was told that I would be fine as long as I ordered the 1500 watt inverter. When I just quoted your response to Kim, I was then told that yes, I would need the transfer switch, would I like it added to the build sheet? Living 3000 miles from Chilliwack, I would have been upset after hitting the road and finding out that I couldn't use the microwave with the 1500 watt inverter without adding "one more part!"
__________________
Kevin
Thanks to the interstate highway system, it is now possible to travel across the country from coast to coast without seeing anything - Charles Kuralt
kstock11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 04:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ?, Arizona
Trailer: ?
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpaharley2008 View Post
A 1500 watt inverter would only need a 15 amp wire, so a 20 amp feed would certainly be adequate.
The reason for 2 circuits is when you are on shore power, not the inverter. On shore power with the 30amp cord and no xfer switch you could run 2 full 15amp circuits at once - electric frying pan and toaster - say - on different circuits. (Assuming no other loads - batteries fully charged, no A/C, no water heater, etc.)

On the xfer switch you will be limited to 20 amps total from the outlets. (Unless of course you run heavier wire to the xfer switch and run it off a 30 amp breaker - which the power panel is not rated for.)
jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 05:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jamie beers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, British Columbia
Trailer: 19'
Posts: 318
Essentially, if the inverter is not installed I could run 2 appliances (assuming your conditions) if plugged into shore power; but if I select the inverter option I could only run 1 appliance because of how the inverter/transfer switch/AC supply are wired? j
__________________

jamie beers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.