Troubleshooting furnace? - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Problem Solving | Owners helping each other
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2019, 04:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: El Granada, California
Trailer: Escape 2019
Posts: 3
Troubleshooting furnace?

Haven't been in the trailer for a couple of weeks, in the process, power was shut off (back on now). When I turn on the furnace the fan seems to run for a little bit blowing cold air and then stops. No heat coming. Read the manual but cannot figure out the way to troubleshoot it. Any ideas?
__________________

debedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:46 PM   #2
Bea
Senior Member
 
Bea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Northern California, California
Trailer: 2019 Escape 21
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by debedb View Post
Haven't been in the trailer for a couple of weeks, in the process, power was shut off (back on now). When I turn on the furnace the fan seems to run for a little bit blowing cold air and then stops. No heat coming. Read the manual but cannot figure out the way to troubleshoot it. Any ideas?
We also have a 2019 Escape. Not sure what model you have is... but if your furnace is the same (Dometic DFSAD12131) then this is what our operating instructions say:

Problem: Furnace does not light, but blower does turn on:

Solution: 1. Air is in the LP line. Purge the air by turning on other appliances (like a cooktop) that are further downstream from the LP tanks.
2. The thermostat is not set to Heat or a hight enough temperature. Adjust the thermostat.

If you try this and still have issues, I would watch the orientation 'sail switch' video. Maybe that's your culprit? During our orientation, ETI said that those who travel with pets are more apt to have sail switch issues with their furnace. Best, -Bea
__________________

Bea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 06:43 PM   #3
Site Team
 
padlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Trailer: 5.0 TA #6, 2012 F150 EB
Posts: 5,898
Try #1 from Bea. My normal procedure when checking the gas before a trip is to light the stove 1st. After it lights turn it off and try all the other appliances.
__________________
Happy Motoring
Bob
padlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 08:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rubicon327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Burlington Twp., New Jersey
Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Posts: 3,336
If you have the outside access panel that can be removed and then try to run furnace. Red LED should flash a diagnostic code if something isn’t right. See attached for codes and control board location. Also the full video about sail switch and control board replacement might be helpful.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 080D31E2-244C-44DC-A63E-85467D6ED437.jpg (176.9 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 45D4B785-3B2D-4876-B697-B109C34DD785.jpg (119.5 KB, 11 views)
__________________
“One way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure.”― W.F.
rubicon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 09:48 PM   #5
Site Team
 
cpaharley2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia
Trailer: Escape#4, 2019 Escape21 DejaView pulled by 2014 Ram Hemi/8sp
Posts: 19,799
According to other owners with the same set up, if it runs for 30 seconds and then stops, sail switch. If it run for a minute and 20 seconds, it is a circuit board. Go from there...
__________________
Jim
"Never in doubt,..... often wrong!"
cpaharley2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 01:18 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kelowna, British Columbia
Trailer: 2019 5.0 TA due March 26
Posts: 15
My furnace did this 2 weeks ago. Contacted Escape, they advised it was probably the sail switch and attached a video on how to repair. Followed the steps in the video and found the smallest ever piece of lint in the sail switch. Removed lint, reinstalled switch, works fine. I've got a feeling this might be a regular thing.
Mswan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 09:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Upfisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Yarnell, Arizona
Trailer: 2018 Escape 19, 1980 Tayana Vancouver 42, sold Jan 2019
Posts: 263
Send a message via Skype™ to Upfisk
It is a regular thing. We travel with a cat and about every 10 hours of furnace time we have to clean the sail switch. Previous posts on this suggest a filter fabric on the front of the furnace. We have the fabric, just waiting for inspiration to hit us and install the fix.
__________________
Myrl and Gary
Upfisk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 12:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Whidbey Island, Washington
Trailer: 2011 Escape 15A
Posts: 996
Mine did this a few weeks ago. I tried blowing air at it, no immediate luck, ended up taking a Mr. Buddy heater to the campground, but when I got there the furnace started fine and worked for the whole trip and still works.
Bobbie54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 03:54 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: El Granada, California
Trailer: Escape 2019
Posts: 3
Thank you all for the replies.



Hi



Having watched the video, I was able to remove the sail switch and saw that there was lint on it. (Was able to do this without disconnnecting the wires either).


I've cleaned it and reinserted and the same problem occurs. Is it possible to insert it incorrectly?
debedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 05:12 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
davidmurphy02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Austin, Texas
Trailer: 2019 5.0TA "Junior", 2019 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by debedb View Post
Thank you all for the replies.



Hi



Having watched the video, I was able to remove the sail switch and saw that there was lint on it. (Was able to do this without disconnnecting the wires either).


I've cleaned it and reinserted and the same problem occurs. Is it possible to insert it incorrectly?
Yes - even though there is just one screw attaching the plastic mounting base it is possible to get it in a bit crooked, that happened to me. Check and make sure it is in straight with no gap, if there is a bit of a gap at a slight angle loosen the screw and reinstall making sure it fits square with no gap.
davidmurphy02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 05:13 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Glenview, Illinois
Trailer: Escape 19
Posts: 16
Thanks for this info! I recently also had the 30 second issue, and following the video was able to take out and clean my sail switch of more fibers than I had anticipated. Furnace is runing again but can see repeated need for future cleaning as I also travel with cats. I'll look for the posts about the filtering fabric fix, as otherwise I'll be doing this frequently, stripping screws in the process.

I had problems with my furnace when I picked up my trailer a year ago. This was before I brought the fur babies along. Reace was very helpful walking me through possible causes of the problem. An RV repair shop ultimately adjusted the spacing of the tines of the igniter, which solved the problem at that time.

Always nice to stay toasty, which is why I also travel with a small ceramic heater.
Mary O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 05:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
davidmurphy02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Austin, Texas
Trailer: 2019 5.0TA "Junior", 2019 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Posts: 718
Dometic apparently has come out with an upgraded sail switch mounting block, hopefully to direct airflow away from the contact points and keep it from attracting lint and dust....see this thread: Went to test air conditioner came back withn a heater issue
__________________
David, Mary, and 3 Cats
davidmurphy02 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 05:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Greg A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Trailer: 2015 Escape 19 "Seventy Degrees"
Posts: 2,856
Wonder if it would be worth spraying the sail switch with some static guard or some such so as not to attract the lint and dust. Forturnately, the classics don't seem to be experiencing this issue, but just throwing that out there for a possible solution. I bet the new sail switch design is Dometic's attempt to solve this from their end.
Greg A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 07:34 PM   #14
Site Team
 
padlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Southwick, Massachusetts
Trailer: 5.0 TA #6, 2012 F150 EB
Posts: 5,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg A View Post
Fortunately, the classics don't seem to be experiencing this issue.
Good thing, it sounds like a bear pulling out the furnace in the older ones.
__________________
Happy Motoring
Bob
padlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 04:00 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: El Granada, California
Trailer: Escape 2019
Posts: 3
Hi all


Thank you all for the replies. The second time worked out well - I just removed the sail switch again and reinserted it and everything worked.
__________________

debedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan, furnace, heat, heating

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Escape Trailer Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×