Anderson WDH vs. E2 WDH for bumper towing - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 08-02-2019, 02:31 PM   #1

Trailer: TBD
Anderson WDH vs. E2 WDH for bumper towing

I did a preliminary search and didn't find any discussion comparing the two brands of weight distribution hitches for bumper towing. I am very new at this and my questions reflect that lack of knowledge.

What attracts me to the Anderson is the lighter weight and possibly the use of the ball to tow my two light utility trailers without the weight distribution equipment installed. What attracts me to the E2 is it's availability from Escape Trailer Industries (ETI) with the proper setup. To make matters worse, there seems to be more than one E2 on the market and I don't know which E2 ETI offers.

What has been peoples experience and recommendations? Would you go the same way again knowing what you know today? I would be interested in other brands too but, this is not really a poll or survey so just offering that you have X hitch without your reason why is not helpful.
Old 08-02-2019, 03:40 PM   #2

Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
I have no personal experience with the Anderson, but in doing my research, I saw that others expressed concern about premature wear of the friction cone on the Anderson.