Hitch coupler lock - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 03-13-2019, 05:55 PM   #1

Trailer: Escape 17B
Hitch coupler lock

Hi there,

I am a newbie, and I am looking for buying hitch coupler lock these days. What I found is even the high rating locks from google or amazon could be broken by hand bolt cutter or craw bar in less than 10 seconds! Only 2 locks- Proven industry and Ft knox so far seem fight well against cutter, but they are over 300 US dollars and you have to buy them from US.
Just wondering what locks you guys use and if it's worthy buying a $300+ lock?

Thanks

Chester
mirage99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 06:05 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Locks keep honest people, honest. Crooks do not abide. Keep good insurance coverage and use a coupler lock, although easily broken, still is a deterrent and will slow them down.. I'm sure in Canada, Princess Auto or Schwabs have something, even a reinforced cable through the wheels will slow them down.
Old 03-13-2019, 06:12 PM   #3

Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirage99 View Post
Just wondering what locks you guys use and if it's worthy buying a $300+ lock?

Thanks

Chester

I use this one. I think it cost under $10. Been using it for ten years and nobody has stolen my trailer.
Attached Thumbnails
Hitch lock.jpg  
Old 03-13-2019, 06:45 PM   #4

Trailer: None, sold my 2014 5.0TA
People use the mega locks like you mention, chains thru the wheels, wheel locks.