Jeep Grand Cherokee Diesel with 21C - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 11-15-2020, 09:51 PM   #1

Trailer: Escape 21C, 2021 Model Year
Jeep Grand Cherokee Diesel with 21C

Hi, I will be taking delivery on a 21C next spring. I plan on towing with a 2014 JGC diesel. I believe (going off memory) my GC is rated at 7200lbs max towing and about 1600lbs payload. I live in the central rockies of Colorado and will be towing over high mountain passes often. Since I live in this area I am familiar an comfortable with long uphills and downhills. Even though this is my first time towing I feel fairly confident with my ability to use the shifters for some breaking and holding RPM's etc. It is my intention to purchase the E2 by FastWay Integrated Sway Control and Weight Distribution Hitch from EI. I would like to hear some opinions as to if the sway and weight distribution are advised. Thanks!
TomEscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2020, 10:22 PM   #2

Trailer: 2019 Escape 21
Hi Tom,

Fellow Coloradan / 21C owner here, and welcome to the club. Your diesel GC will do great up here. I would highly recommend a sway control WDH for the rig, I use one with my Ram 1/2 ton. There are a ton of posts on here on pros / cons of different WHDs. I'm partial to the Andersen version - which ETI does not sell, but you can buy online and install yourself or get installed at a trailer shop.

Good luck - don't hesitate to reach out directly if you have any other questions!
mstruzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2020, 10:37 PM   #3