New to towing - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 11-10-2020, 11:46 PM   #1

Trailer: 2021 17 B
New to towing

My wife and I will take ownership of a new 17B trailer sometime in the beginning of March. This will be our first trailer. Other than pulling a small utility trailer, I have zero experience towing a trailer and I’m a bit nervous about the whole thing.
My tow vehicle for now will be a 2009 Honda Ridgeline, which I believe is rated at 5000 lbs. My questions: Should i get a WDH? Should I get sway bars? Both?
Thank you in advance for the help. norm
Norm_in_BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2020, 12:42 AM   #2

Trailer: 2021 Escape 5.0 / 2022 F150 SuperCab
Congrats, Norm, on your impending Escape 17B!

Indeed, your AWD Generation 1 Ridgeline (Gen 1 is model years 2006-2014; all Gen 1 are AWD) is rated for up to 5000# Trailer Weight and up to 600# Tongue Weight while also carrying 2 occupants of 150# each along with 15# of cargo for each occupant. Even with 5 occupants the Max. Trailer Weight rating is 4,500# (Tongue Weight rating 516#), well-over that of the Escape 17B gross weight rating and likely tongue weight.

The Ridgeline's GVWR and GCWR can certainly be exceeded if you carry a great amount of cargo in the vehicle, those limits are fully explained in the Owners Manual (download from the Honda Owners Website if you don't have it).

You'll also note this statement in your Gen. 1 Ridgeline Owner's Manual in the "Towing a Trailer" section:

"Weight Distributing Hitch
A weight distributing hitch is not recommended for use with your vehicle, as an improperly adjusted weight distributing hitch may reduce handling, stability, and braking performance."