Towing a 19 with a Highlander? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 09-05-2013, 12:19 AM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 19'
Towing a 19 with a Highlander?

I am looking at a Toyota Highlander - V6 4WD Sport as a tow vehicle for my on order 19. I have no towing experience. I have already read some favorable posts regarding towing with the Highlander, but I am interested in hearing about performance on steep hills (like the Coquihalla in BC) and gas mileage while towing an Escape 19.

The 4Runner is another option, which might be more capable as a tow with larger engine and more torque, but I prefer the Highlander overall, if it can do the job for me.

Thanks in advance for your comments.
KirkB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:26 AM   #2

Trailer: 2018 21' ; 2014 19' (Sold)
Will be anxious to hear the responses. We have a 2004 Toyota Tundra now but are considering adding a Highlander to our "fleet" and would like to be able to use it with our 19'. My husband's research so far indicates that the new Highlander would certainly be up to the task (probably better than our Tundra which is woefully underpowered in the towing field).
Jan & John
CADreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:03 AM   #3

Trailer: No more Escape 21
I have a 2008 Highlander Limited and towed the 19 Escape. No problem towing outside of lower fuel economy. I get 15 (US) mpg overall while towing.

At the first Escape Rally at Merritt, I drove to Merritt from Chilliwack without difficulty. Just slowed down as the steeper areas.

I plan to use the Highlander to pull our new 21 Escape.