TV Bed Length and 2WD vs 4WD - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2020, 07:25 PM   #1

Trailer: 2014 5.0TA
TV Bed Length and 2WD vs 4WD

Hi all...still a newbie here and trying my best to get as educated as I can. I tried a search for these, but still need more guidance. Hoping you all can enlighten me...

My hubby is pretty set that he wants a Toyota Tundra to pull a 5.0 or 23' when they come out (nothing purchased yet, hoping to get a used 5.0 to start out with...I dream big, I know!). The Tundra has a 5'6" bed. What do we need to consider with the 5.0? Is that bed long enough? Where do we place the rails/hitch for the most turnability? Any other insights/considerations we need to attend to before buying?

Secondly, I see a lot of mention of people specifically wanting two wheel drive and not four. What's the reason? To the non-mechanical me, a 4wd seems like it would have more luck towing up mountains, etc. I must be missing some key facts here....what are they? The Tundra comes in both versions. Would towing a 5.0 vs. a 23' make a difference in 2wd or 4wd being preferred?

As always, thank you so much for being willing to share your knowledge! This community is so awesome!!

Jackie
Jgntch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 07:28 PM   #2
LRL

Trailer: E23Q; previously: 2017 E21
Go with 4 WD. You'll seldom need it. But when you do... you'll be very glad you have it. I do wish Toyota designed their vehicles similarly to Subaru: all wheel drive all the time, but still Toyota's 4WD is totally fine and there is no rational reason - other than $$ (which is very rational!) to pass on it.
Arcata, CA
LRL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 08:10 PM   #3