Weight Bearing Hitch; Lesson Learned and a Question - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Towing and Hitching
Click Here to Login

Old 08-09-2019, 07:27 PM   #1

Trailer: 2022 21C 'The QShip'
Weight Bearing Hitch; Lesson Learned and a Question

Just got back from our first real trip with our 17B. We have a WBH, which I have never used before. Decided to try an experiment and leave the torsion bars off, but it pitched badly, so put them on.

One thing learned: The torsion bars on the hitch make a real difference in dips in the road. We hit what I thought was a reasonable dip and heard a terrible clatter. Upon checking I found one torsion bar had impacted the road and bent the retaining clip, which failed and allowed the chain to detach. No damage of consequence, but lesson learned. Go through dips very slowly. I had never realized the torsion bars extend back at the same angle as the hitch, so they are much closer to the bottom of a dip.

Question: Had I not been able to reattach the torsion bar can one travel with only one attached? It seems it would result in only 1/2 the weight transfer, but that should be the only effect. (We do not use any anti-sway).
marant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2019, 07:34 PM   #2

Trailer: 2018 5.0TA / 2018 GMC Canyon/Duramax
Quote:
Originally Posted by marant View Post
Just got back from our first real trip with our 17B. We have a WBH, which I have never used before. Decided to try an experiment and leave the torsion bars off, but it pitched badly, so put them on.