Equalization Double-Dose Question - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Maintenance, Winterizing and Routine Care
Click Here to Login

Old 02-10-2018, 07:22 PM   #1

Trailer: 2015 E19'
Equalization Double-Dose Question

I am typically compulsive about doing a monthly equalization charge on my 2 6 volt batteries, but having had no sunny days last December, and being out recovering from surgery during January, I have - gasp - let it go for 2 months now. I finally got the trailer out of storage and got a good 3 hour equalization charge done today in the beautiful (if all too rare for Seattle) sunshine, and given the forecast for more sun on Monday, am wondering if I should do another 3 hours then. I am by no means an electronical expert, so am seeking knowledge from you smart forum folks. I am thinking that hitting the batteries with a second equalization charge dosage might help eliminate some of the accumulated sulfation buildup, and hopefully not do any harm. Any ideas?

I have always done equalization charges using solar, which shows 14.9 - 15.0 volts on the voltmeter, while the solar controller panel shows that equalization is calling for 15.1 volts (the maximum the controller can do). As I recall, Interstate specifies 15.3 volts. For whatever reason, I can never get the voltmeter to show more than 13.4 volts when doing an equalization charge using 120 VAC shore power rather than solar, but never worried about it since we tend to get at least a few sunny days every month so have always done solar-powered equalization charges.
Old 02-10-2018, 08:05 PM   #2

Trailer: 1979 Boler B1700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Great Eggstrications View Post