power during storage? - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Tech > Maintenance, Winterizing and Routine Care
Click Here to Login

Old 09-12-2021, 01:56 PM   #1

Trailer: Escape 21
power during storage?

Hello all,

I'm a newbie. my wife and I just purchased a 2020, 21C. I have question regarding storage, whether winter, or just between trips.

what is best for the batteries/electrical system when not in use? should we plug into shore power? hook up a battery minder? what is best?

our camper is under shelter, so the solar panels don't get sun.

Thanks ahead of time!

Douwe
Douwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2021, 02:05 PM   #2

Trailer: 2013 Escape 21 Classic Number 6, pulled by 2018 Toyota Highlander
I have 20 and 30 amp power in our enclosed building. The trailer is always plugged in. If we need to work on something we can run the air or an electric heater is needed. I have excess generation on my solar array so there is no cost to us. I have a battery tender in my utility room for my marine battery. It does a good job.
Iowa Dave
Old 09-12-2021, 07:46 PM   #3

Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douwe View Post
what is best for the batteries/electrical system when not in use? should we plug into shore power? hook up a battery minder? what is best?
Knowing your battery type is pertinent to the discussion. Lead-acid or lithium?
Old 09-13-2021, 08:10 AM   #4

Trailer: Escape 21
battery

we have Li-Ion batts
Douwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2021, 11:32 AM   #5

Trailer: 2010 Escape 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douwe View Post
we have Li-Ion batts
You might want to read this:
https://amsolar.com/blog/properly-storing-your-rv