Escape 5.0TA expected delivery June 24’ B&W Companion Hitch - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Files FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-13-2022, 12:40 AM   #1

Trailer: 2024 Escape 5.0TA
Question Escape 5.0TA expected delivery June 24’ B&W Companion Hitch

Hello, my name is Eddie and I’m new to the Escape Forums. My Escape 5.0TA will not be ready for pick up until mid 2024 so I have plenty of time before I need to make any hitch decisions. Just yesterday I obtained my tow vehicle, 2021 Ford F-150 Crew Cab 6.5’ bed, King Ranch, 4x4 , 3.5L V6 Ecoboost, max trailer tow package, 7150# GVWR package. My bed rail height is just under 57”.

With all that out of the way I’m curious about anyone with experience utilizing the B&W Companion or the CURT PowerRide 5th wheel hitch? I understand the Anderson Ultimate hitch is extremely light, but I’d like to know from real life users the pros and cons between traditional 5th wheel hitches like the B&W and CURT vs Anderson Ultimate.

Thanks in advance for any offerings of opinions on this subject as I am a rookie.
Bikeryder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 06:29 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape#5 2022 E19
Welcome Eddie,
To our little Escape world. We will help you select the best options on your new Escape......
Old 12-13-2022, 07:23 AM   #3

Trailer: 2019 5.0TA "Junior", 2019 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
The biggest advantage to the Andersen Ultimate hitch is the light weight. For many 5.0 owners the payload capacity of their pickup is marginal and saving 100 pounds or more on the hitch weight is significant. If you have plenty of payload capacity that's not much of an issue.