Hello from suburbs of Chicago - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 09-20-2015, 08:00 PM   #1

Trailer: 21’ 2020
Hello from suburbs of Chicago

Hi All!
I'm an all-around newbie to camping and trailering, and also to possibly purchasing a FB camper. From a week's worth of research and forum watching, I agree with y'all that an Escape looks like the way to go!

Briefly here...my son just asked me "why get a camper when so many people don't use them, and then just sell in a few years!"
He's also correct, in that I haven't gone camping myself, except twice before!
However, that's been due to many obstacles; multiple military moves (overseas as well), my physical disability, kid's activities, scouts every weekend, hubby's dedication to serving in the military, and then being struck (and stuck inside) with 2 cancers/5 major surgeries over the last 13 years.

So, with kids out of the nest, a new home in an entirely new location, I've got the urge and time to start to explore the outdoor lifestyle and our beautiful country! BTW, fishing is one of my hobbies as well.
Actually the "urge" is also part of "urgent"; because I only have a couple of years left before I'm fully confined to a wheelchair and probably be house-bound. Also, with my health history, I'm not betting on having another 10-20 years of a very active lifestyle (I'm in my mid-50's). Camping in a tent is difficult for me, physically, and it’s so darned cold and buggy!
I thought a camper would solve these issues, and provide a measure of safety from wildlife (and wild people)!