Jay - travel nurse from Virginia! - Escape Trailer Owners Community
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Escape Trailer Owners Community > Escape Community > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 11-20-2018, 07:45 AM   #1

Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA
Talking Jay - travel nurse from Virginia!

Hi guys, just put down a deposit on a 5.0 TA yesterday.

My name is Jay I'm a 33 year old nurse from Virginia. After a few years of traveling staying with friends I'm transitioning into full timing so I can take my dogs on the road with me more easily.

I had been looking at larger stick built campers, but after seeing a few I was unimpressed with the quality coming out of the big manufacturers and the idea of a slide while tempting ultimately just sounded like something that would break / leak. Then I started thinking about airstreams due to the high resale value and availability of used trailers but the idea of having an easily dented aluminum skin made me sweat. I was lucky that in my area of Virginia there were lots of Scamps and Casitas for sale on craigslist at the end of the Summer. I discovered molded fiberglass and took a deep dive into all of the manufacturers I could find. After a long search I found Escape and felt that on paper they seemed to give the best value and customer service. The company seemed to be the right size to still be very customer-centric.

After contacting Escape they gave me the contact info for Gerry and Carolyn who had a 5.0 TA nearby. Gerry was so great and getting to "kick the tires" on the trailer made me realize, that for the same price as many of the other big stick built trailers I could find, that the Escape was a huge step up in quality. I was lucky that the available completion dates were about a month before my current lease ends.

My current hopes are as follows: